Ugly Gem Sweater Holiday Cash

BUY LOW, SELL HIGH: So in keeping with the theme of finding and selling thrifted stuff for CASH, I’ll let you guys in on a little secret. IT’S UGLY XMAS SWEATER WEEK! That’s right, for a couple years now I’ve been slowly buying amazingly awesome/hideous ugly holiday sweaters for reselling. This is the best week to list and sell those babies, you’ve got a few days left to hunt and find some of these in the thrift stores. Desperate, uncreative, drones will pay top dollar off of eBay and Craigslist to try and out-tacky their peers and co-workers at their holiday parties. The best time to pick them up is in the off months, summer and spring when the holidays are off of people’s radars and the thrift stores aren’t gouging the prices just before the holidays. Pictured above are 3 “gems” that I’m selling this year. The one with santa and reindeer (which I picked up for $2.99) already sold on eBay for $64 – can you believe that?! Someone’s going to make it rain this Christmas. Anyways, I initially felt apprehensive about even telling you lovelies this secret lil cash niche – but I love you all… well, most of you. So happy holidays and get out there and get diggin.

WHAT TO LOOK FOR: The ones with “bedazzlement” and “rhinestone gem jewels” like Leslie and the LY’s rocks in most of her videos. These are the most desirable and fetch the most cash. Anyone remember this video she did with Space150 in 2005 for Gem Sweaters, pure gold. Another thing to look for is the general tackiness of the garment. The more tassles, and  bells and stuff hanging off of it, the better. Finally, a big secret is to find the more general ones (not everyone celebrates Christmas). The ones with bells, or holly, or gingerbread men on them. These ones make them more overall appealing to people of all faiths. Go buy a few packets of gems and puffy balls and some Aleene’s fabric glue from Wal-Mart’s craft section and gem them up yourself. In the stack photo above you can peek a couple more generally ugly one’s that I plan to gem up while watching TV or listening to records. Here’s a great Flickr set showcasing some brutally awesome holiday sweaters.

LIKE THIS BLOG? Become a fan and add us on our Facebook fan page. And follow on Twitter!

13 responses to “Ugly Gem Sweater Holiday Cash

  1. now can i get that 50 bucks you owe me?

  2. i hate you for giving up this secret!

  3. Um, I’m a total suburban Mom and NOBODY I know wears these sweaters. You must be right – it’s got to be people buying them as gags or jokes. Definitely stopping by my store on Monday for 25% off day. Thanks for sharing the thrifting love.

  4. Thanks for the advice! I bought an ugly christmas sweater at a thrift store and was able to double my money. You can check out photos of the sweater on my site.

  5. OMG! This is so funny! I live in the midwest and every woman in our small town has several of these (‘cept me). Actually they wear them for every major holiday, so don’t think just Christmas. Our thrift stores are packed with them. Thanks for the tip!

  6. Hilarious! I tried to start a new Ugly Christmas Sweater family tradition, but no one would go for it. I wanted everyone to wear the worst Christmas sweater they could find, for Christmas dinner. No takers yet.

  7. Too funny! When I saw these pics, images of a ridiculous looking and ugly-holiday-sweater-clad Colin Firth in the flic, Bridget Jones’ Diary, popped into my head!! I met an Ebay reseller once who told me there’s a market for anything on Ebay. He makes his rent by selling vintage rock tees….

  8. Me again – after I left that comment I went home for Christmas and the Ottawa Citizen newspaper did a feature on the ugly Christmas sweater! Thought of you – now I will always give those sweaters a second look!

  9. Pingback: TIS THE SEASON. | ^^^ THINGS I FOUND (at the thrift store) ^^^ Thrifting, Frugality, Upcycling and Green Living Tips for the Modern Thrifter

  10. My “Uglies” are not doing too well this year. I think the market is saturated.

Leave a Reply

