Real Men Drink Tea?

I remember an episode of Little House on the Prairie when I was a kid where “Pa Wilder” (Michael Landon) was telling his family and his adopted son Albert that “real men drink tea.” Even at 8 years old I called bullshit on this.  Tea? Really? Seems a lil’ bit sissy to me. Don’t get me wrong, I like a good green/black tea or a chai every now and again, but I have to say I disagree with Mr. Landon in that nowadays tea definitely doesn’t have the reputation that a strong hair-curling cup of black coffee does. I’m actually pretty caffeine high as I type this.

Anyways, back on point I scored a nice set of tea & coffee tins for $3 total ($1.49 each). I see them from time to time in other various forms (see old October posts) and even spot these same ones but usually missing their buddy unit . I think they are timeless and really beautiful. Definitely an “oldie-but-goodie.” The polished steel, the classic eurostile font stamped out in the front, the smooth real oak or walnut handle to the perfect fitting airtight rubber seal and stackable design of them. They are undoubtedly an all-around timeless kitchen item. They were even made here in the good ole’ USA. Keep your eyes peeled for a set of them, there’s tons out there folks.

My second treasure find was something related to this coming weeks’ video post. I found some more old boxes of laser transparencies, cost me a $.99 a box. Yeap, the kind your grade school teachers used and wrote on with those smelly black and red pens. I snatch these up whenever I find them because to buy laser transparencies new, costs an arm and a leg. Seriously about $20+/- a box. These (in any condition old or new) are gold for hobby or professional screen printers for burning and making the color layers on screens. Theyre also preferred to the paper and linseed method because you can wash them and archive them for future use shoud you or a client want reprints.

I’ll leave you with a tidbit of profundity I’ve always liked. Take it for what you will.

A job is work but work isn’t necessarily a job. Stay busy in the daylight, stay busy in the moonlight, and don’t worry about the limelight.”

Leave a Reply

