United Plates of America.

dscf2381 dscf2392 dscf2394

Thanks to my new 3G iPhone (file under: brag), I’ve been able to GPS locate and more easily find some new thrift spots wayyyyy north of the Twin Cities. These spots aren’t very big but these older, smaller, “Podunk communities” can yield some of the best treasures. I picked up that sweet presidential plate that is literally from 1953 – the Eisenhower administration ($2.49). I can’t wait for my kids to someday see Barack Obama on a commemorative plate. Why plates? Who started that trend way back in the day? But it seems a fitting find with all the Obama inauguration excitement coming in the next week or so.

2009 has GOT to be better than 2008, I can feel it. Even if there’s less ching in our pockets, it has its upsides. Go see some movies or rent them, get to know your relatives, soak up some stories – do you know how your grandparents met? Do you know how your parents met? Ask, sometimes that shit is real good saga. Take a short roadtrip, get to know your state. Do something nice for your sweetheart, or go out and meet a sweetheart. You get my drift Chachi…? Recessions help us center and focus on the stuff that actually matters and makes us appreciate what we have. And don’t think I’m blind to the fact that I just stated that on a blog where I go and find crap in thrift stores 😛

My other finds were some nice vintage mugs ($.75 each) – designers get tingly when we see nice mugs. I also found another Canada mug. Nice design and real comfy handle. DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE the handle/comfort factor. A badly weighted mug can start your morning off shitty or you risk sloshing coffee on your threads. I got to visit Martha’s Vineyard and Cape Cod in 2006. It was really beautiful, lots of celebs have shacks on that island. Super expensive though, since everything has to be shipped in, a gallon of gas ran you like $6. I consider myself more of a west coast sorta guy though, and I’m gonna consider this a ramble where I jump off.

More later.

2 responses to “United Plates of America.

  1. maybe thats why 2009 is seemingly so much better for you. you got a sweetheart. 🙂

  2. As a Canadian, I need to start building my Canadian mug collection – that one is awesome. Also like your reminder that I should get off my butt and seek out a thrift store further than .5 miles from my house….

Leave a Reply

