Made of Space Age NASA Ceramic and Ink.

Hey party people. I’ve done some minor holiday thrifting. Like always, I picked up some of the usuals: blank t-shirts (probably about 75-80 of them) for screen and gocco printing goodness, glass apothecary jars (lots of them with “gnome tops” as I prefer), some books, yadda yadda yadda. My niche finds are pictured above. We got a cute retro squirrel planter for $1.99, I plan to make one of my baby aloe plants it’s home in there, it’s perfect size. I also scored that weird 70’s colors candy dish thing, it says it’s handmade and Japanese, $1.99. I also found a nice vintage set of acrylic salt & pepper shakers ($.99). The salt & pepper set will be put on Etsy for sale.

A few of my radder finds this time around is a pair of navy and baby blue “ROOS” or Kangaroos brand shoes in my perfect size. I had a pair of these things when I was about 4 years old. Even still has the little “stash” zipper and velcro pocket on the side. At 4 years old I wasn’t “stashin” anything but pebbles or m&m’s, my how time changes things. The Roos were $4.99! Let me also add that although Roos are nice kicks, they stil do not hold a candle to my beloved Sauconys. Next up for my graphic satiation is a stencil font book. Most of these are pretty lame and I almost passed this over but upon further review – this one was real real good. Check out some of the spreads, it makes me want to get crackin’ and vectorize some of those faces to use in projects. The booklet was $.89 cents.

It’s not often I post garments due to the fact that most of my photos blow 99% as is and are usually taken while on 3am coffee highs, but because it’s hard to show them in their essence which is on the person. Anybody want to donate an upper-body mannequin for the cause? My lady has been looking for mannequins for quite a while and would gladly pay for one – hit me up. I had to share a couple great winter-themed garments I picked up. Check out that 70’s light bike jacket, how Steve McQueen is that thing?! Also check out that comfy farm boy/hipster/midwest button up, its authentic old school not a shitty remake from Urban Outfitters nowawadays. The jacket was $3,99 and the button up was $1. 49. Also pictured is this odd “Photo Dryer” I picked up for $2.49 that you place your photo/t-shirt/etc underneath the canvas part and it clicks down and heats up to unilaterally dry whatever is in there. It works great and I tested it out while curing the ink on some prints I was gocco pressing. The only down side is that it sort of smells like a barn, or  a church social if every old person were wearing a burlap farm sack.

Finally, to round out the total nerdiness of this entire post – I found and was giddy about that NASA mug. I immediately thought of giving it to my friend Rustle for xmas (if that butt-crumpet would ever hang out anymore). It reminds me of him because he digs space (who doesn’t right?) and it’s also a running theme in our fly-by-night “band” practices we hold roughly 2x a year. Russ, don’t you want your .99 cent damned NASA mug? Friends buy NASA mugs for friends.

*Also a quick thanks to Josh Peters for clarifying and correcting my banner.

Leave a Reply

